• Advocacy Tools

  • Get to know the leaders that influence education policy in Arizona!

    Arizona State Elected Officials

    Doug Ducey, Governor

    Governor's Staff (appointed by Governor):

    • Kirk Adams, Chief of Staff
    • Gretchen Martinez, Director of Legislative Affairs
    • Dawn Wallace, Education Policy Advisor

    Arizona 53rd Legislature - First Regular Session (2017)

    Republican Leaders

    Senate: House:
    • Sen. Steve Yarbrough, Senate President
    •  Rep. J.D. Mesnard, House Speaker
    • Sen. Kimberly Yee, Majority Leader
    •  Rep. John Allen, Majority Leader
    • Sen. Gail Griffin, Majority Whip 
    •  Rep. Kelly Townsend, Majority Whip
    • Sen. Debbie Lesko, President Pro Tempore   
    •  Rep. TJ Shope, Speaker Pro Tempore

    Democratic Leaders



    • Sen. Katie Hobbs, Minority Leader

    • Rep. Rebecca Rios, Minority Leader
    • Sen. Steve Farley, Assistant Minority Leader
    • Rep. Randy Friese, Assistant Minority Leader
    • Sen. Martin Quezada, Minority Co-Whip
    • Sen. Lupe Contreras, Minority Co-Whip
    • Sen. David Bradley, Minority Leader Pro Tem
    • Rep. Charlene Fernandez, Minority Whip


    Education House of Representatives Standing Committee

    • Paul Boyer (R) - Chair
    • Doug Coleman (R) - Vice Chair
    • Jill Norgaard (R)
    • Rusty Bower (R)
    • Becky Nutt (R)
    • Don Shooter (R)
    • David Stringer (R)
    • Michelle Udall (R)
    • Lela Alston (D)
    • Reginald Bolding (D)
    • Macario Saldate (D)

    Education - Senate Standing Committee

    • Sylvia Allen (R) - Chair
    • Steve Montenegro (R) - Vice Chair
    • Kimberly Yee (R) 
    • Kate Brophy McGee (R)
    • Steve Smith (R)
    • David Bradley (D)
    • Catherine Miranda (D)


    State Board of Education (appointed by Governor)

    • Tim Carter, President
    • Karol Schmidt, Executive Director


    Arizona State Department of Education (elected)

    • Diane Douglas, State Superintendent of Public Instruction


    Arizona Board of Regents (appointed by Governor)

    • Bill Ridenour, Chair
    • Eileen Klein, ABOR President


    First Things First

    • Josh Allen, Chief Executive Officer (interim)


    Arizona Commission for Postsecondary Education (appointed by Governor)

    • April Osborn, Executive Director